Why Were There FOUR Ukraines in 1918?

History Documentaries

How did Ukraine proclaimed independence in 1918? After the Russian Revolution (1917) the Ukrainian People’s Republic (also known as the Ukrainian National Republic; the UNR) was established. When Bolshevik Russia and Germany signed the Treaty of Brest-Litovsk it left Ukraine in the German sphere of influence with Pavlo Skoropadskyi as Hetman of Ukraine. Apart from the UNR the West Ukrainian People’s Republic was established in Eastern Galicia. This republic was soon overrun by the Polish forces in the Polish–Ukrainian War (1918 – 1919). Meanwhile White Russian troops fought against the Red (as part of the Russian Civil War). The White Russian forces were attacked by the Black Army of Nestor Machno who had an area called the Free Territory of Ukraine (Makhnovshchina).

Credit History Hustle

Please support our Sponsors here : Hot Electronics Selection Top-rated Electronics, MAX 60% OFF, Embrace the future of technology!